Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Talking Heads announce 40th anniversary deluxe edition of ‘Stop Making Sense’

Talking Heads have announced a deluxe edition of their iconic live album ‘Stop Making Sense’ in celebration of its 40th anniversary.

  • READ MORE: Talking Heads: every album ranked in order of greatness

Four decades on from the classic concert album and live film, the set will be re-released as a 2LP and 2CD/Blu-ray set this summer.

Following the deluxe edition of the soundtrack selling out when released last year, the album will be returning as a 2LP black vinyl on and retail and a 2LP crystal clear vinyl at Barnes and Noble on July 26. Both variants come with a 12-page booklet with liner notes from all four members of the band, as well as band photos. Visit here to pre-order.

Meanwhile, the 2CD/Blu-ray version comes with the entire 28-page booklet from last year’s edition, as well as a Dolby Atmos mix of the complete concert mixed by Jerry Harrison and E.T. Thorngren, who mixed the original release too.

The new wave pioneers first released the film, directed by Jonathan Demme, in 1984 and it was shot over four nights at the Hollywood Pantages Theatre in Los Angeles, California, in December 1983. It includes performances of some of their most celebrated songs, including ‘Psycho Killer’ and ‘Burning Down the House’.

Last week, the band appeared together for a screening and Q&A back at Pantages. Actor Andy Richter hosted, while there was a performance from Blondshell. There’s going to be another screening at the King’s Theater in New York City on June 13, too, with a Q&A hosted by Questlove and a performance from The Linda Lindas.

The announcement comes just weeks after the band’s drummer Chris Frantz teased the band returning to the theatre on Instagram. Frantz posted an image of a black and white theatre marquee with the main banner saying “TALKING HEADS”.

Also last month (May 17), the tribute album ‘Everyone’s Getting Involved: A Tribute To Stop Making Sense’ was released. The song-for-song tribute album featured covers from the likes of Miley Cyrus, Paramore, Lorde, The National and Girl In Red.

The re-released sets will be available from July 26, but you can pre-order now.

The ‘Stop Making Sense’ tracklist is:

Side One
1. ‘Psycho Killer’
2. ‘Heaven’
3. ‘Thank You For Sending Me An Angel’
4. ‘Found A Job’
5. ‘Slippery People’
6. ‘Cities’

Side Two
7. ‘Burning Down The House’
8. ‘Life During Wartime’
9. ‘Making Flippy Floppy’
10. ‘Swamp’

Side Three
11. ‘What A Day That Was’
12. ‘This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)’
13. ‘Once In A Lifetime’
14. ‘Big Business / I Zimbra’

Side Four
15. ‘Genius Of Love’
16. ‘Girlfriend Is Better’
17. ‘Take Me To The River’
18. ‘Crosseyed And Painless’

Meanwhile, Talking Heads frontman David Byrne this week shared a newly unearthed collaboration with new wave icons Devo, sharing ‘Empire’ from 1997 as part of a charity compilation to benefit independent abortion providers in the US.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Oasis guitarist Bonehead has gifted a busker in Glasgow tickets to one of Liam Gallagher‘s ‘Definitely Maybe’ anniversary shows in the city. Bonehead, real...


The Last Dinner Party have teased their upcoming Glastonbury performance, suggesting that there will be something special happening. The band will perform on the...


Interpol have apologised for inadvertently copying another artist’s work for the poster for their forthcoming ‘Antics’ 20th anniversary tour. The tour poster resembles a...


Father John Misty has teased two new songs, with one rumoured by fans to be titled ‘Josh Tillman And The Accidental Dose’. Check them...