Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


The Voidz share more details on new album ‘Like All Before You’, release atmospheric opener ‘Overture’

The Voidz have announced their third album ‘Like All Before You’ and have shared the LP’s opening track ‘Overture’.

  • READ MORE: From Gorillaz to The Last Shadow Puppets: the 10 best side projects in indie

Earlier this week, Julian Casablancas and co. shared a cryptic teaser video for the album which saw the band reveal the release date for the record and was soundtracked by an instrumental ‘Overture’ filled with moody synths, which serves as the album’s opening track.

Now, the band have announced their third album ‘Like All Before You’ is set for digital release on September 20 and will be available on Vinyl starting October 18 (you can pre-save it here). ‘Like All Before You’ was created at the band’s home studio in Venice, CA as well as the renowned Vox Studios in Los Angeles.

The LP sees the band collaborate with producers Ivan Wayman (Beyoncé, Miley Cyrus, The War on Drugs), Justin Raisen (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Kim Gordon, Yves Tumor), and SAD PONY (Lil Yachty, Drake) on several tracks.

The Voidz ‘Like All Before You’ album artwork. Credit: PRESS

‘Like All Before You’ tracklist:

1. ‘Overture’
2. ‘Square Wave’
3. ‘Prophecy of The Dragon’
4. ‘7 Horses’
5. ‘Spectral Analysis’
6. ‘Flexorcist’
7. ‘Perseverance–1C2S’
8. ‘All The Same’
9. ‘When Will The Time of These Bastards End’
10. ‘Walk Off (Outro)’

Both ‘Flexorcist’, which the band put out near Halloween and the metallic pop cut ‘Prophecy of the Dragon’, both of which the band combined into a 14-minute music video last October will be featured on the LP.

Elsewhere, Casablancas and co also announced two gigs in New York and Los Angeles to celebrate the release of ‘Like All Before You’. They will take over LA’s Orpheum Theatre on October 16 and NYC’s Apollo Theatre in Harlem on October 18. A ticket pre-sale will take place on Thursday July 11 at 10am local time. General ticket sales will commence on Friday July 12 at 10am. Visit here to purchase tickets.

The Voidz’ 2024 US live dates are:

16 – Los Angeles, Orpehum Theatre 
18 – New York, Apollo Theatre 

The Voidz’s most recent effort was 2018’s ‘Virtue’, which followed their 2014 debut effort ‘Tyranny’. In a four-star review, NME’s Rhian Daly called the record an “interesting, unusual and thought-provoking” effort that didn’t “lose their eccentric inventor touch”, with “a handful of pop-leaning moments present among the boundary-pushing ones.”

Meanwhile, Casablancas has continued to stay active as part of The Strokes. Last year, the band played All Points East in London alongside acts including Angel Olsen, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Walkmen, Girl in Red and The Strokes. In a March show in support of Chicago congressional candidate Kina Collins, The Strokes dusted off several live rarities, including the ‘Room on Fire’ cut ‘You Talk Way Too Much’.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Glass Animals frontman Dave Bayley has said that their smash hit single ‘Heat Waves’ nearly went to pop star Rihanna. In a new interview...


Coldplay premiered a new song for some lucky fans in Italy. The British band, led by charismatic frontman Chris Martin, debuted the unreleased track...


Frank Zappa‘s ‘Apostrophe (‘)’ will receive a super-deluxe edition for its 50th anniversary – see all details below. READ MORE: ‘Zappa’ review: Alex Winter’s complex...


Kid Rock is enraged over the assassination attempt on Donald Trump. On Saturday (July 13), the 53-year-old rocker — a staunch supporter of the...