Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Pillow Queens announce new album ‘Name Your Sorrow’ and share new single ‘Gone’

Pillow Queens have announced a new album titled ‘Name Your Sorrow’ and have shared its lead single ‘Gone’.

  • READ MORE: Pillow Queens: Dublin indie buoyed with messages of much-needed positivity

The Irish indie rock band – comprised of Pamela Connolly, Sarah Corcoran, Rachel Lyons and Cathy McGuinness – are set to release their third LP on April 19. ‘Name Your Sorrow’ is available for pre-save/pre-order here.

With lyrics “Tried to be your rock / But I’m just your fool / I could make it stop / but I’m not that cool / I was in your top five things to do”, the album’s lead single ‘Gone’ describes the exiting of a collapsing relationship.

Speaking about the track in a press release, Pillow Queens said “‘Gone’ is a song that looks into the vapid nature of brief romantic encounters and the hyperbole that can become so monotonous, it makes you jaded.”

Lead vocalist, guitarist and bassist Pamela Connolly added, “Lines like, ‘I was in your top five things to do’ convey a lack of self-worth that’s tackled throughout the album. It’s a song that showcases a vulnerability that allows for no silver linings–it’s the reality of how someone is feeling in the moment.”

Produced by Collin Pastore (Lucy Dacus, boygenius) at Analogue Catalogue in Northern Ireland, ‘Name Your Sorrow’ sees the band “at their most vulnerable and self-assured as they explore themes of queerness, insecurity, desire and heartbreak as well as the positivity and strength that can grow from pain.”

Speaking about the album, The band said: “It is about stages of love, loss and grief and how they can all exist alongside one another–intertwined, messy, beautiful–how both love and loss can coexist.”

They also credited Irish poet Eavan Bolan, English poet John Keats, and British writer C.S. Lewis as literary inspirations while writing the LP and the likes of Vampire Weekend, Barbara Streisand, Frank Ocean, Tool and Lana Del Rey as musical influences.

‘Name Your Sorrow’ follows their 2022 LP ‘Leave the Light On’ and their 2020 album ‘In Waiting’.

Pillow Queens – ‘Name Your Sorrow’ album artwork. Credit PRESS

Pillow Queens – ‘Name Your Sorrow’  track list is: 

1. ‘8th February’
2. ‘Suffer’
3. ‘Like A Lesson’
4. ‘Blew Up The World’
5. ‘Friend Of Mine’
6. ‘The Bar’s Closed’
7. ‘Gone’
8. ‘So Kind’
9. ‘Heavy Pour’
10. ‘One Night’
11. ‘Love II’
12. ‘Notes On Worth’

In support of ‘Name Your Sorrow’, Pillow Queens have announced a 2024 UK and Ireland tour. Kicking off on June 5 at Wardrobe in Leeds, the band will make their way across the UK with stops in Bristol, London, Manchester and Glasgow. The string of live dates will end on July 13 at Iveagh Gardens in Dublin which will mark their biggest show to date. Visit here to purchase tickets and checkout a full list of tour dates below.

Pillow Queens 2024 UK and Ireland tour dates are:

5 – Wardrobe, Leeds, UK
6 – The Fleece, Bristol, UK
7 – Brixton Electric, London, UK
8 – YES (Pink Room), Manchester, UK
10 – Cluny, Newcastle, UK
11 – Saint Luke’s, Glasgow, UK

13 – Iveagh Gardens, Dublin, IR

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Melissa McCarthy was fangirling over Billie Eilish at the 2024 Screen Actors Guild Awards. While presenting the award for outstanding performance by a female...


Travis Kelce is living his best life in Las Vegas. The Kansas City Chiefs tight end spent part of his weekend partying in Sin...


21 Savage made his musical guest debut on Saturday Night Live, performing tracks from his latest album. The U.K.-born, Atlanta-raised rapper delivered three songs...


Singers also unite for “Big Man on Mulberry Street” at One Night Only show in Tampa Bay Billy Joel and Sting kicked off their...