Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


‘Yellowjackets’ Season Two Soundtrack to Feature Alanis Morissette, Nirvana, Garbage

The Nineties are in full swing on the soundtrack to the recent second season of Yellowjackets.

Yellowjackets Season 2 Official Soundtrack: Music from The Original Series, set for release Sept. 1, will include tracks from Alanis Morissette, Nirvana, Garbage, Elliott Smith, Veruca Salt, the Cranberries, and Pulp. It also features an original track, “Just a Girl,” by Florence + the Machine, as well as Papa Roach’s “Last Resort” in a nod to a memorable moment from the show.

Morissette’s contribution is a cover of the Showtime series’ theme song, “No Return,” written by Craig Wedren and Anna Waronker. Her take on the grungy track first appeared in the second season’s fourth episode. Two versions of the song will be included on the LP.

“I love the original version of ‘No Return,’” Morissette said in a statement at the time. “It’s just a perfect song. It was a little daunting to be asked to reinterpret it but I see parallels between Yellowjackets and my perspective while songwriting: the sheer intensity, that going for the jugular with no fear around going for the profane.”

Elsewhere on the soundtrack, fans will get another listen of “Sit Right Down,” which was performed by John Cameron Mitchell with Elijah Wood, Wedren, and Waronker in the seventh episode. The song was part of a surreal dream sequence for Christina Ricci’s Misty, who found herself in conversation with her pet parrot Caligula (played by Mitchell).

Mitchell told Rolling Stone he based his avian character on Patti LuPone, Jimmy Durante, and a parrot named Lydie, whom he shared with an ex (the latter was named after his ex’s grandmother). “They tend to bond with one person, so when we broke up, it bit me,” Mitchell said. “I used that memory to play this one. He’s been around. He’s seen it all.”

Yellowjackets premiered its second season in March. The series, about a girl’s soccer team stranded in the woods after a plane crash and the events surrounding the survivors years later, recently made headlines with a highly-anticipated moment of cannibalism. The show stars Melanie Lynskey, Juliette Lewis, Tawny Cypress, Christina Ricci, Liv Hewson, Sophie Nélisse, Jasmin Savoy Brown, Sophie Thatcher, and Samantha Hanratty, with Elijah Wood, Lauren Ambrose, and Simone Kessell joining for season two.


The soundtrack is available for pre-order now.

Yellowjackets Season 2 Official Soundtrack: Music from The Original Series Tracklist:

  1. Alanis Morissette – “No Return”
  2. Florence + The Machine – “Just a Girl”
  3. Nirvana – “Something in the Way”
  4. Live – “Lightning Crashes”
  5. The Cranberries – “Zombie”
  6. Garbage – “#1 Crush”
  7. Pulp – “Sorted For E’s & Wizz”
  8. Veruca Salt – “Seether”
  9. Necking – “Big Mouth”
  10. Papa Roach – “Last Resort”
  11. 4 Non Blondes – “What’s Up?”
  12. Sparks – “Angst In My Pants”
  13. John Cameron Mitchell with Elijah Wood, Craig Wedren and Anna Waronker – “Sit Right Down”
  14. Nouvelle Vague – “The Killing Moon”
  15. Elliott Smith – “Pitseleh”
  16. Alanis Morissette – “No Return – Alt Version”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Ethan and Maya Hawke have shared a cover of the Willie Nelson deep cut, “We Don’t Run,” which will appear on an upcoming compilation...


Ronnie Milsap will play his final Nashville concert Tuesday night, a guest-heavy salute to the piano player featuring Kelly Clarkson, Little Big Town, Sara...


American Aquarium sells mostly prosaic items at their merch table each night, including T-shirts, tour posters and records. But fans of the alt-country band...


The boy band golden era and its biggest stars — ‘NSync, the Backstreet Boys, and New Kids on the Block — will be the...