Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Gossip tell us about their Rick Rubin-assisted return and comeback single ‘Crazy Again’

Gossip are back with details of their first album in 11 years, ‘Real Power’, along with beautiful new single ‘Crazy Again’. Check it out below along with some exclusive insight from the band.

The Beth Ditto-fronted indie icons have not released an album since 2012’s ‘A Joyful Noise‘. Now, the ‘Standing In The Way Of Control’ trio will release their sixth album ‘Real Power’ in March 2024, produced again by Rick Rubin after he worked on the band’s 2009 album ‘Music For Men‘. Not only that, but it was Rubin who encouraged the band to reunite and start recording again after they celebrated the album’s 10th anniversary with a tour in 2019.

“Getting to work with Rick again was a true gift!” the band exclusively told NME. “He doesn’t remotely care about outside opinions around what you could or should be making. He creates calm, positive, open spaces- emotional space and the actual physical vibe of his studio – that make you free to experiment.

“We felt genuinely cared about and supported. We’re both such maniacs, he’s amazing at helping us focus the chaos. We were writing like crazy, there are probably 30-40 songs and bits of things that came out of it, just throwing everything against the wall and having the best time! It’s not only about music, Rick helps you connect with yourself and everything else comes out of that. It’s a deep jam. We trust him completely.”

Gossip in the studio with Rick Rubin in 2008. Credit: Provided exclusively for NME

Their return is previewed by the launch single ‘Crazy Again’ – a simmering and subtle yet soulful dose of piano-tinged electro-pop that sees Ditto tenderly singing of “being in love and feeling so safe”.

A video for the track will be released at 9am GMT today (Friday November 17). Directed by past collaborator Ssion (Perfume Genius, King Princess), the clip was shot in Kansas City and reminds fans of the band’s inimitable chemistry.

Gossip return with new album, 'Real Power'. Credit: Cody Critcheloe
Gossip return with new album, ‘Real Power’. Credit: Cody Critcheloe

‘Real Power’ was recorded at Rubin’s home studio in Kauai in between the COVID pandemic and lockdown, and comes described by a press release as “an 11-track celebration of creative expression, and the power of chosen family in the  aftermath of collective and personal trauma”.

“When we began, so much about Gossip was about running away – that was  always in the music,” said Ditto. “We survived. We came from nothing, and we got the fuck out of there. And to be here  20 years later and still making music together is just incredible.”

Gossip release ‘Real Power’ on March 22. Check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Gossip return with new album, 'Real Power'
Gossip return with new album, ‘Real Power’

The tracklisting for ‘Real Power’ is:

1. ‘Act Of God’
2. ‘Real Power’
3. ‘Don’t Be Afraid’
4. ‘Crazy Again’
5. ‘Edge Of The Sun’
6. ‘Give It Up For Love’
7. ‘Turn The Card’
8. ‘Tell Me Something’
9. ‘Light It Up’
10. ‘Tough’
11. ‘Peace And Quiet’

Ditto released her debut solo album ‘Fake Sugar’ in 2017, and has also spent much of the past decade working across music and fashion and campaigning for feminist & LGBTQ+ rights.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Latin music legend Juan Luis Guerra spoke with Billboard Español deputy editor Sigal Ratner-Arias about his latest EP ‘Radio Güira,’ his upcoming animated film...


Slowdive have announced a US tour scheduled for Spring 2024 – see the full list of dates below. The shoegaze veterans made the announcement...


After the success of “Water,” Tyla will be heading on tour in the new year. On Tuesday, the South African singer announced the dates...


YG Entertainment has renewed its exclusive contract with all four members of BLACKPINK, the company announced Wednesday (Dec. 6), sending stock in the K-pop...