Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Beyoncé vs. Taylor Swift at the VMAs: Queens Lead in Social-Voted Categories

Taylor Swift and Beyoncé’s dominance over Summer 2023 continues with the VMAs.

On Friday, MTV announced the nominees for the Video Music Awards, including the four social-voted categories at the awards show, which sees both Taylor Swift and Beyoncé facing each other in all three of the categories they can be nominated for. (The fourth category was Group of the Year.)

Among the Swift vs. Bey faceoffs are Show of the Summer, Song of the Summer, and Album of the Year.

For Song of the Summer, Swift and Queen Bey are two of 16 possible winners for their songs “Karma” with Ice Spice and “Cuff It,” respectively, facing off against the likes of Yng Lvcas and Peso Pluma’s “La Bebé” and Olivia Rodrigo’s “Vampire” in what’s set to be a three-round, bracket-style faceoff that begins. (Three songs from the Barbie film are also nominated.)

For Album of the Year, Renaissance and Midnights are up against Drake and 21 Savage’s Her Loss, Metro Boomin’s Heroes & Villains, Miley Cyrus’ Endless Summer Vacation, and SZA’s SOS.

And in the Show of the Summer category, Beyoncé and Swift face Blackpink, Drake, Ed Sheeran, and Karol G.

With the three social category additions, Swift leads in total award nominations with 11, followed by SZA at eight, and the likes of Olivia Rodrigo, Nicki Minaj, Doja Cat, and Miley Cyrus at 6. Beyoncé’s total lands at fourtotal.

Below are all the nominees for the social-voted categories.

Show of the Summer

– Beyoncé
– Blackpink
– Drake
– Ed Sheeran
– Karol G
– Taylor Swift
Single-round voting will occur on Sept. 3 at 11 a.m. ET on @MTV’s Instagram Story.

Song of the Summer

– Beyoncé – “Cuff It”
– Billie Eilish – “What Was I Made For?”
– Doja Cat – “Paint the Town Red”
– Doechii feat. Kodak Black – “What It Is”
– Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night”
– Fifty Fifty – “Cupid”
– Gunna – “Fukumean”
– Jung Kook feat. Latto – “Seven”
– Nicki Minaj and Ice Spice – “Barbie World”
– Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
– SZA – “Kill Bill”
– Taylor Swift feat. Ice Spice – “Karma”
– Tomorrow x Together and Jonas Brothers – “Do It Like That”
– Luke Combs – “Fast Car”
– Troye Sivan – “Rush”
– Yng Lvcas and Peso Pluma – “La Bebé (Remix)”
Three-round, bracket-style face-off will begin Sept. 7 at 11 a.m. ET on @MTV’s Instagram Story. The final round of voting closes Sept. 11 at 11 a.m. ET.

Album of the Year

– Beyoncé – Renaissance
– Drake and 21 Savage – Her Loss
– Metro Boomin – Heroes & Villains
– Miley Cyrus – Endless Summer Vacation
– Taylor Swift – Midnights
Single-round voting will occur on Sept. 11 at 11 a.m. ET on @MTV’s Instagram Story.


Group of the Year

– Blackpink
– Fifty Fifty
– Jonas Brothers
– Maneskin
– NewJeans
– Seventeen
– Tomorrow x Together
Two-round, bracket-style face-off launches Sept. 4 at 11 a.m. ET on @MTV’s Instagram Sttory. Final round closes Sept. 7.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


It’s official. Summer is over. The second day of Life Is Beautiful inaugurated the Fall season with a diverse lineup of performers across the...


Usher has earned one of the biggest gigs of his career: The 2024 Super Bowl LVIII halftime show. Roc Nation, the NFL and Apple...


Around 10:20 pm on Saturday night, a shadowy group of figures walked onto the Farm Aid stage at the Ruoff Music Center in Noblesville,...


Jung Kook made his Global Citizen Festival solo debut on Saturday at the Great Lawn in New York’s Central Park where he unveiled a...