Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Nashville Songwriters Association International Elects Lee Thomas Miller President, Jenn Schott VP

The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) has selected its leadership for the coming year.

Lee Thomas Miller has been selected to serve as president, while Jenn Schott will serve as vp of the organization. Outgoing president Steve Bogard, who previously served as NSAI president from 2006-2012 and was elected to the role again in 2017, is the longest-running president in NSAI’s history. Bogard chose not to seek another leadership term, though he will continue serving on NSAI’s board of directors.

The results of the general election also include new board member Trannie Anderson joining for a first term, while 10 current board members were re-elected to two-year terms: Steve BogardChris DeStefanoJ.T. HardingByron HillJosh KearJamie MooreJon NiteLiz RoseJenn Schott and Emily Shackelton. Meanwhile, Roger Brown was re-appointed to a one-year term as legislative chair, while Rhett Akins and Caitlyn Smith were re-appointed to the organization’s “artist writer” board positions for one-year terms and Brett James was re-appointed to a one-year term in the industry liaison role.

The new additions join existing board members Miller, Kelly ArcherSarah BuxtonDavid HodgesJessie Jo DillonTim NicholsJosh OsborneRivers RutherfordAnthony L. SmithTroy Verges and Parker Welling, whose terms expire in 2025.

“Steve Bogard led NSAI through complicated trials where we sought higher streaming rates, the Music Modernization Act, and many challenges as we sought to improve compensation for American Songwriters,” said NSAI executive director Bart Herbison in a statement. “Every songwriter in the United States owes him a handshake and thank you for his work and the thousands of hours he sacrificed. We are also glad to welcome Lee Thomas Miller who has served as President previously and is a proven, effective advocate. And Jenn Schott who will serve as NSAI Vice-President after years of experience on our board and Executive Committee.”

NSAI Board elections happen in two phases: voting by the NSAI professional songwriter membership and appointments by the NSAI board of directors. The board terms begin each year at the April meeting.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Singers also unite for “Big Man on Mulberry Street” at One Night Only show in Tampa Bay Billy Joel and Sting kicked off their...


Melissa McCarthy asked Billie Eilish to sign her forehead on stage at last night’s Screen Actors Guild Awards. The pair were presenting an award...


Tributes have been paid to former Queens Park Rangers player Stan Bowles, who has died at the age of 75. The news was confirmed...


Ricky Wilson has recounted the time that Shane MacGowan once asked for an apple from Kaiser Chiefs‘ rider, which he later used to smoke...